Bombay HC maintains disqualification of three BMC corporators

The law requires the corporators to provide their caste certificate within 12 months of their elections


Bombay High Court had earlier maintained the disqualification of three Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) corporators over the failure to prove their caste claims. The corporators had professed that they belong to Other Backward Classes (OBCs) category.  

Of the three disqualified BMC corporators, two – Kesarben Patel from Chakala and Murji Patel from Prabhat Colony - are from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) while corporator Rajpati Yadav from Kandivli (West) is from Congress. 

Earlier on April 2, the HC upheld their disqualification after the three corporators failed to prove their caste claims to Caste Scrutiny Committee (CSC). The court further stated that the law makes it mandatory for the corporators to provide their caste certificate within 12 months of the polls. 

While hearing the matter, Justices Ranjit More and Bharti Dangre ruled that the three corporators have failed to do the same. Thus, the corporator seat should be vacated. 

Also Read - FOB's At Naigaon And Nalasopara To Shut Down

After the HC's decision, Mayor Vishwanath Mahadeshwar disqualified them. However, the three corporators have appealed the Supreme Court against the decision of Bombay High Court. As this happened, of the total corporators in the civic body, 93 belong to Shiv Sena while 85 corporators are from BJP.