J. Dey Murder Case: Chhota Rajan convicted while Journalist Jigna Vora is acquitted

J. Dey was gunned down on June 11, 2011, and seven years after his murder, the MCOCA court has convicted Chhota Rajan and nine others in this case.


After almost seven years of Veteran Crime reporter Jyotirmoy Dey’s (J. Dey) murder, the special Maharashtra Control of Organised Crimes Act (MCOCA) Court on Wednesday convicted underworld don Chhota
Rajan with nine others accused of the same.

The court convicted Rajendra Sadashiv Nikalje aka "Chhota Rajan" for conspiring and murdering the Mid-Day journalist and acquitted accused journalist Jigna Vora and Joseph Paulson.

Amid the conviction of Chhota Rajan and nine others by the special court, Lina - J. Dey's sister - has demanded capital punishment for the convicted criminals in this case. 

The death of my brother meant the destruction of my family. A year ago, my mother died and there was no one around to take her to the hospital,” she said.

Earlier on June 11, 2011, J. Dey was gunned down in Powai. Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) arrested 12 people in this case: Chhota Rajan, Journalist Jigna Vora, Satish Kali, Abhijeet Shinde, Arun Dek, Sachin Gaikwad, Anil Waghmare, Nilesh Shenge, Mangesh Agnav, Vinod Asrani, Joseph Paulson, Deepak Sisodhia, and Jadeja.

Latest News