Dynasty Politics For 18 Out Of 36 Ministers In Maharashtra Cabinet

With Aditya Thackeray and Ajit Pawar being the prominent names, there were total 18 ministers who belonged to dynastic politics.


The Maharashtra Cabinet swearing-in ceremony was held on December 30 wherein 36 ministers were sworn in in the presence of Governor B. S. Koshyari. Notably, 18 out of 36 ministers are a 'by-product'  of dynasty politics. The most prominent name would be Yuva Sena Chief and MLA from Worli Constituency Aditya Thackeray who has been given an important position in the cabinet. Nationalist Congress Party's chief Sharad Pawar's nephew Ajit Pawar took oath as a Deputy Chief Minister for the second time in the month. 

Other young dynasts who have entered Mantralaya as ministers include Aditi Tatkare, daughter of NCP's Sunil Tatkare of Raigad, while Amit Deshmukh’s father, the late Vilasrao Deshmukh, was CM in early 2000 among others. 

Also Read: Besides Pawar Vs. Pawar, Here Are Other 'Uncle-Nephew' Duo Betrayal Cases In Maharashtra Politics

Here’s the list of all 25 cabinet ministers sworn-in on December 30: 

1. Ashok Chavan, Congress

2. Dilip Walse Patil, NC

3. Dhananjay Munde, NCP

4. Vijay Waddetiwar, Congress

5. Anil Deshmukh, NCP

6. Hasan Mushrif, NCP

7. Varsha Gaikwad, Congress

8. Rajendra Shingane, NCP

9. Nawab Malik, NCP

10. Rajesh Tope, NCP

11. Sunil Kedar, Congress

12. Sanjay Rathod, Shiv Sena

13. Gulabrao Patil, Shiv Sena

14. Amit Deshmukh, Congress

15. Dada Bhuse, Shiv Sena

16. Jitendra Awhad, NCP

17. Sandippan Bhumre, Shiv Sena

18. Balasaheb Patil, NCP

19. Yashomati Thakur, Congress

20. Anil Parab , Shiv Sena

21. Uday Samant, Shiv Sena

22. KC Padvi, Congress

23. Shankar Rao Gadakh, Independent (Shiv Sena quota)

24. Aslam Shaikh, Congress

25. Aditya Thackeray, Shiv Sena

Ministers of State that took oath: 

1. Abdul Sattar, Shiv Sena

2. Satej Patil, Congress

3. Shambhuraj Desai, Shiv Sena

4. Bachchu Kadu, Independent

5. Vishwajeet Kadam, Congress

6. Dattatray Bharne, NCP

7. Aditi Tatkare, NCP

8. Sanjay Bansode, NCP

9. Prajakt Tanpure, NCP

10. Rajendra Patil Yedravkar, Independent

Also Read: CM Uddhav Thackeray Acknowledges “Mistake” Of Mixing Religion And Politics

Latest News