Ansari fails to enter BMC for fifth-time

Ansari fails to enter BMC for fifth-time

Mumbai - Senior corporator from the last civic body, Wakarunnisa Ansari, could not retain her seat for the fifth consecutive times. She contested this election on the MIM ticket after deserting the Congress. On the other hand, BJP’s Shailaja Girkar won her fifth consecutive term from Kandivali.

Ansari, who was MIM candidate in ward no. 223, faced a humiliating defeat at the hand of Nikita Nikam, daughter of Dnyanraj Nikam, former leader of opposition in BMC. Congress had denied ticket to Ansari and hence she joined the MIM but she failed to enter the BMC for the fifth time.

Girkar, also a fifth-time corporator, won her seat in Kandivali and become the third most senior corporator in the BMC.

Candidates who became corporators for fourth-time
Ramesh Korgaonkar – Shiv Sena
Ujwala Modak – BJP
Candidates striking a hat-trick
Sandhya Doshi – Shiv Sena
Ramakant Rahate – Shiv Sena
Manoj Kotak – BJP
Pravin Shah – BJP
Asif Zakeria – Congress
Rakhi Jadhav – NCP
Geeta Gawli - ABS

MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates