Ravi Raja elected as Leader of opposition

     Ravi Raja elected as Leader of opposition
    Mumbai  -  

    The leader of the third largest party has been chosen as the leader of the opposition. Congress leader, Ravi Raja is the leader of the opposition in BMC. Mayor Vishwanath Mahadeshwar announced the decision at the corporation meeting on Tuesday.

    Ravi Raja managed to win this year’s election with a margin of 134 votes by defeating Murugan, brother of BJP legislator Tamil Selvan. Raja has also been part of BEST committee for consecutive 18 years.

    Ravi Raja is a four-time corporator and he lost the elections in 2012, in spite of that party nominated him on BEST committee.

    BJP Group Leader Manoj Kotak stated that if the opposition is not performing they will raise their voice against them.

    Leader of Opposition Till Date -

    Khan Bastiwala : 2000 - 2003

    Gunwant Sheth : 2003 - 2004

    Rajhans Singh : 2004 - 2012

    Nyanraj Nikam : 2012 - 2013

    Bala Ambrekar : 2013 - 2016

    Pravin Chheda : 2016 - 2017

    Loading Comments
    © 2018 MumbaiLive. All Rights Reserved.