Lok Sabha Elections: CPI(M) to back Prakash Ambedkar from Solapur

CPI(M) had earlier backed Bahujan Vikas Aghadi (BVA) chief Hitendra Thakur who is contesting from Palghar LS seat


Ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in April next month, Communist Party of India (Marxist) extended their support to Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) candidate Prakash Ambedkar who is contesting Lok Sabha polls from Solapur constituency in Maharashtra. 

CPI(M) Central Committee member and Farmer leader Ashok Dhawale informed that they have decided to back Prakash Ambedkar in Solapur for the upcoming LS polls. 

However, CPI(M) has clarified that they are making an exception for Ambedkar and will not support any other candidates fielded by VBA., "Ambedkar has supported us in our struggles and agitations,” Dhawale added. 

Ambedkar is contesting against Congress leader Sushil Kumar Shinde and the support extended by CPI(M) might help as the party has a stronghold in Solapur. Bharip Bahujan Mahasangh chief Prakash Ambedkar and All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) chief Asaduddin Owaisi joined hands and decided to contest on all 48 LS seats in Maharashtra under the banner of VBA. 

Also Read - Lok Sabha Elections: CM Fadnavis, Uddhav Thackeray To Campaign Separately

With a strong aim to defeat Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), CPI(M) had earlier supported Bahujan Vikas Aghadi (BVA) chief Hitendra Thakur for Palghar LS seat. This happened after CPI(M) expressed their displeasure against Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) alliance earlier for not leaving the Dindori LS seat in Nashik. 

Latest News