CPI(M) extends support to Bahujan Vikas Aghadi for Palghar Lok Sabha seat

Bahujan Vikas Aghadi, however, is yet to announce its candidate for the Palghar Lok Sabha seat


Amid being disappointed with Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) alliance for not leaving the Dindori Lok Sabha seat, Communist Party of India (CPI-M) on Thursday backed Bahujan Vikas Aghadi (VBA) President Hitendra Thakur for Palghar LS seat.

Meanwhile, Thakur said that he still waits for a response from Congress-NCP alliance. After the success of farmers march – Kisan Long March - in Maharashtra, the CPI(M) decided to field candidates from Dindori in Nashik and Palghar LS constituency. However, last week, NCP declared its own candidate from Dindori. 

CPI(M) had claimed the Dindori LS constituency seat hoping that it will a part of the grand or mega-alliance. However, Congress and NCP kept the small parties including CPI, CPI(M), BVA away from the alliance. After NCP’s declaration of its candidate for Dindori LS seat, CPI(M) will also field its candidate for the same. 

Also Read - Lok Sabha Elections: BJP Declares 184 Candidates In Its First List

Meanwhile, the CPI(M) has given their support to BVA for the Palghar LS seat. BVA, however, is yet to announce the name of its candidate.

Latest News