Old guard eyes tickets for BMC polls too

Old guard eyes tickets for BMC polls too

Mumbai - With the BMC elections round the corner, ticket aspirants from all the parties are keeping an eye on the announcement of candidatures. These include those who had lost their wards either to delimitation or to the political rivals in the last elections.
Former Shiv Sena corporators including Mangesh Satamkar, Prabhakar Shinde, Vishwanath Mahadeshwar, Subhash Kanta Sawant, Rajul Patel, Bansode, Shashikant Patkar, Milind Vaidya, and Arvind Bane, Congress’ Upendra Doshi and Ravi Raja, NCP’s Ajit Raorane, BJP’s Bhalchandra Shirsat, Janak Sanghvi, Sharad Petiwala, Arvind Parmar, Sitaram Tiwari and Minal Juwatkar had lost their wards in the delimitation process in the 2007 BMC elections. The same are being opened in the delimitation process making them hopefuls of the party tickets from their respective wards again.
All these candidates will have to fight with the current BMC corporators. As there are no concrete alliances formed yet, nearly all of them are likely to be accommodated in the seat distribution. If alliances are formed, any one of these former and present corporators will have to sit at home.
Meanwhile, former MLA and former Mayor Vishakha Raut is also trying to bag   a party ticket for the corporation from ward no. 191. Former Congress MLA Rajhans Singh is also willing to fight BMC polls from his Kurla or Malad Dindoshi ward. He is attempting to get a ticket for his son Nitesh Singh from Kurla segment. Rajhans Singh gave positive indications in this regard and said that a proper decision would be taken as per the need of the party.

MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates