Mumbai corporators who might try their luck in upcoming Maharashtra assembly elections

There are many corporators across party lines who are aspiring to contest in the upcoming assembly elections on MLA seat


Maharashtra assembly election is scheduled in mid-October this year and the poll dates are likely to be declared after Ganesh Chaturthi. Every political party is busy with the preparation for the upcoming polls and the sitting MLAs intend to save their seat. 

On the other hand, there are many corporators across party lines who are aspiring to contest in the upcoming assembly elections on MLA seat. According to sources, there are 10 corporators in Mumbai who might contest the assembly elections this year.

Samajwadi Party (SP)

Samajwadi Party (SP) corporator Rais Sheikh, who is a BMC group leader from Govandi may contest the assembly elections. Due to Sheikh, SP has marked its presence in the civic body. The speculations suggest that SP might field Sheikh from either Govandi or nearby constituency.

Akhil Bharatiya Sena (AKS)  

Another speculation suggests that Geeta Gawli, daughter of underworld don-turned politician Arun Gawli, can also contest the Maharashtra assembly elections. The lone corporator of Akhil Bharatiya Sena (AKS), Geeta Gawli can contest assembly polls in order to further strengthen the party.


According to sources, several corporators from Congress are looking forward to a ticket in the upcoming assembly elections. Among the corporators, Congress leaders including Ravi Raja, Asif Zakaria, Jishan Siddiqui – son of Baba Siddiqui and Vitthal Lokare can contest the upcoming polls.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiv Sena

In Shiv Sena, the corporators who might contest the assembly elections scheduled mid-October this year include Ashish Chemburkar and Yashwant Jadhav. 

While in BJP, Neil Somaiya – son of former MP Kirit Somaiya – might be fielded from Mulund assembly constituency in the upcoming polls. For decades, sitting BJP MLA Sardar Tara Singh has been contesting from the seat. 

Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS)

MNS did not contest 2019 Lok Sabha elections but is certainly preparing to contest the Maharashtra assembly polls. From MNS, party’s General Secretary Sandeep Deshpande might contest the upcoming elections.

Latest News