Konkan Railway to slow down this monsoon

The train speed will be reduced to 75-90 kmph during heavy rains to avert any rain-induced calamity

Konkan Railway to slow down this monsoon

Monsoon is just a couple of days away from the Konkan coast. IMD and Skymet had already issued warnings regarding the heavy rains in Konkan from June 7 to June 9. As a safety measure against the hilly terrains prone to landslides, the Konkan Railway will reduce the train speed to 75-90 kmph from 100 kmph during the monsoon to avert any rain-induced calamities.

During the monsoon, incidents of rail collapses and soil rifts are very frequent in the KR route. The Loco pilots have been asked to further bring down the speed to 40 kmph in cases of low visibility. The KR will implement the timetable from June 10. Besides, 770 personnel will patrol the route at vulnerable locations during the rains. For better communication, loco pilots, station masters, and field officials have been provided with mobile phones in cases of emergency.

“Konkan region receives heavy rainfall every year. The route was built by cutting mountains and crosses over many bridges on rivers and creeks, making it highly prone to land cracks. A lot of effort goes into making the route and danger proof and clear of any blocks. The KR is taking it slow this time.” – Nilesh Naik, Railway official

Following is the Konkan Railway monsoon schedule:

Train - Number Name - Vacation Place - Changed Time

10104 - Madgaon-CSMT Mandvi Express - From Madgaon - 9:95 AM to 8:30 AM
11004 - Sawantwadi-Dadar Rajyani Express from Sawantwadi - 6:50 PM (instead of 5:30 PM)
12052 - Madgaon-Dadar Janshatabdi Express from Margao - 2:30 PM (instead of 12 PM)
12620 - Mangalore-LTT Matsyagandha Express from Mangalore - 2:35 PM (instead of 12:50 PM)
22907 - Madgaon-Hapa Express from Madgaon - 10:40 AM (instead of 7:00 AM)
12741 - Vasco-Patna Express from Vasco da Gama - 7:05 PM (instead of 6 PM)
10215 - Madgaon-Ernakulam Express from Madgaon - 9:30 PM (instead of 9:00 PM)
11086 - Madgaon-LTT Double-Dakar Express from Madgaon - 6 AM (instead of 5:30 AM)
50101 - Madgaon-Ratnagiri Passenger from Madgaon - 7:10 PM (instead of 8:00 PM)

Read this story in मराठी
MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates