Next station Prabhadevi!

Next station Prabhadevi!

Next station Prabhadevi…….This announcement you may hear soon while travelling in local trains on the Central line as the Central government has given a green signal to the changing of Elphinstone Road station to Prabhadevi. The name of Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus will also be changed with the added word of ‘Maharaj’ in it. It will now be called ‘Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus’.

The State government had accorded its permission to these proposals in the winter session of the Assembly. State transport minister Diwakar Raote was the first person to demand the change in name of Elphinstone Road as ‘Prabhadevi’.

Earlier, the BJP government has changed the name of Oshiwara railway station to Ram Mandir station. A few days ago, BJP MLA Raj Purohit has demanded to change the name of Marine Lines station to Mumbadevi. A silent march was also taken out a few days back to name the Mumbai Central station after Nana Shankarseth. Shiv Sena MP Arvind Sawant had also demanded change of seven railway station by writing a letter to chief minister Devendra Fadnavis and Railway minister Suresh Prabhu.

MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates