Monorail Phase II, Parel Terminus inaugurated

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis along with Union Railway Minister Piyush Goyal flagged off the first local train from Parel Terminus to Kalyan


Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis on Sunday launched the phase II of the Monorail in Mumbai. The monorail will start its operations covering the entire 19.54 km of its route which will benefit about one lakh commuters every day. 

Earlier in the first phase of the Monorail, the distance covered was 8.26 km. However, the monorail service was shut down for around 10 months after a fire incident. The first phase of the monorail was started earlier in 2014. 

The monorail services will be operated at a frequency of twenty-two minutes each and the ticket fare will be between Rs 10 to Rs 40.

The second phase will include stations such as Sant Gadge Maharaj Chowk, Lower Parel, Mint Colony, Ambedkar Nagar, Naigaon, Dadar (East), Wadala, Acharya Atre Nagar, Antop Hill, and GTB Nagar. 

Apart from the launch of Monorail’s Phase II, CM Fadnavis along with Union Railway Minister Piyush Goyal also inaugurated Parel Terminus on March 3. The first local bound to Kalyan from Parel was flagged off by the Union minister and Maharashtra CM. 

Also Read - Mumbai Traffic Police Launch Digital Invoicing System Against Traffic Violators

The first local train bound to Kalyan from Parel Terminus will run at 8:38 in the morning and the last local train will leave at 11:15 in the night while the Parel-bound trains from Kalyan will start their journey at 7:09 in the morning and the last local will run at 9:52 in the night. 

Latest News