Rohit Sharma-led Team India lose first T20 as Bangladesh register a historic win

India lost to Bangladesh after Mushfiqur Rahim scored a decisive 43-ball 60 to register their first-ever T20 victory over the mighty Indians on their home soil


As the Rohit Sharma-led Indian Cricket Team entered the field on November 3, Sunday at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi to face Bangladesh in the first match of the T20 series, little did they know that the visiting team would register a historic win against them. 

Some good bowling and top-quality batting helped Bangladesh to register this win. Mushifqur Rahim and Soumya Sarkar led the visiting side to register their first-ever T20 victory over the mighty Men in Blue on their home soil on Sunday.

After Virat Kohli was rested for the T20 series against Bangladesh, the side was captained by Mumbai batsman and Indian vice-captain, Rohit Sharma. However, both the lads from Mumbai, Sharma as well as Shivam Dube, who made his international debut, failed to put up an impression against Bangladesh.

Put to bat first, Rohit Sharma & Co. appeared struggling on a sticky surface and due to their overly cautious approach, the hosts could only manage to pile a modest total of 148 runs for six at the smog-hit Arun Jaitley Stadium.

As Bangladesh chased the target set by Indian batsmen, the match appeared to be a tough tussle between the two sides but in the end, Bangladesh managed to seal the victory. The turning point of the match was when the visitors needed 33 runs in 16 deliveries. At the moment, Rahim struck one of Chahal's deliveries straight in the pockets of Krunal Pandya, who was guarding the deep mid-wicket boundary.

However, Pandya ended up dropping the catch and the ball slid to the boundary awarding Bangladesh with four runs. What followed next was heroics from Rahim and a bit of luck which saw Bangladesh registering their first-ever T20 win against India on the home soil.

Latest News