• Here’s a look at Mumbai Indians Over the Decade
  • Here’s a look at Mumbai Indians Over the Decade

As we bring 2019 to a close and prepare to welcome 2020, it’s a good time to look at the accomplishments of the Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League (IPL) this past decade. Although IPL has been around for more than a decade, it’s safe to say that Mumbai Indians started their ascent to the top of the IPL crown in 2010 when the team entered the finals for the first time, although losing eventually to the Chennai Super Kings in the DY Patil Stadium. 

But since then, Mumbai Indians have won four trophies, making them the most successful team in the IPL. Mumbai is also the reigning champion going into the 2020 IPL thanks to Lasith Malinga’s final over heroics in the 2019 final against the Chennai Super Kings. So how did Mumbai fare in each IPL since 2010?


Mumbai had a terrific finish at the league table, which resulted in the team playing their Semi-Final against the fourth-placed team on the table, Royal Challengers Bangalore. Mumbai won the match by 34 runs, setting up a finals clash against CSK. However, Chennai proved to be the better team on Finals day as Mumbai lost the game by 22 runs. 


This is when the IPL starting hosting 2 qualifiers and 1 eliminator to determine the finalists. This helped the top two finishing teams to get another go at the trophy by playing the 2nd Qualifier against the team that wins the Eliminator. This was also the only IPL to have 10 teams competing for the trophy.

Mumbai Indians managed to make it to the third place in the league table, resulting in the team playing the Eliminator against Kolkata Knight Riders. Mumbai, playing at the Wankhede, won the game with four balls and four wickets in hand. This meant the team would face Royal Challengers Bangalore in Qualifier 2, but Chris Gayle came in the team’s way with a monstrous knock, securing RCB’s place in the final, and consequently Mumbai’s exit. Chennai Super Kings went on to win the final, beating RCB by 58 runs. 


Mumbai finished 3rd yet again in 2012, this time playing the Eliminator against CSK at Bengaluru. Mumbai lost the game, thus marking its exit from the IPL. A century in the season by Rohit Sharma and a total of 433 runs along with Lasith Malinga finishing at 3rd place among the highest wicket-takers of the tournament remained highlights of the campaign for Mumbai. KKR won the trophy for the first time this year, beating Chennai Super Kings at the Chepauk while chasing a steep total. The fifth edition of the IPL had 9 teams in total. 


This was the year of redemption for the Mumbai Indians in many ways. Finishing 2nd on the league table, Mumbai took on CSK in the first Qualifier. However, Mumbai lost that game by 48 runs which meant the team had to take on Rajasthan Royals in Qualifier 2. Mumbai won this game with one ball to spare which set up the grand final against the Chennai Super Kings in the Eden Gardens, Kolkata. While Chennai appeared favourites to win after the first half, Mumbai clawed back into the game strongly, taking the game eventually by 25 runs and lifting their first-ever IPL trophy, though we knew this was the first of many.  


Defending champions Mumbai finished fourth on the table, which meant they faced 3rd placed Chennai Super Kings in the Eliminator. Chennai dashed the hopes of MI supporters by beating the team in the Eliminator. Chennai was beaten by Kings XI Punjab in Qualifier 2, setting up a final between KKR and KXIP in Bengaluru. 

Kolkata chased down the target of 200 with 3 balls to spare, thus registering the team’s second IPL win. Since 2014, IPL has 8 playing teams and two teams for two years following the suspension of CSK and Rajasthan Royals (Rising Pune Supergiant and Gujarat Lions in the 2016 and 2017 editions).


Mumbai had an excellent IPL in 2015, finishing 2nd in the league stages. This set up a Qualifier 1 clash with the Chennai Super Kings, resulting in a comfortable 25 run victory, taking the team directly to the final. CSK meanwhile, beat the Royal Challengers Bangalore in Qualifier 2, securing a final spot, and a virtual repeat of the 2013 IPL final, with this year’s final also held in the Eden Gardens. Batting first, Mumbai set CSK a resounding target of 203, which was also a contrast of their finals clash two years prior. Chennai could only manage 161, which gave the Mumbai Indians their second IPL trophy in 2015. 


It’s safe to say that this was a forgettable year for Mumbai Indians, as the team didn’t even make it to the top four at the end of the league stages. This also meant that the IPL would get a first-time winner in the form of Sunrisers Hyderabad (not counting Deccan Chargers’ IPL win in 2009). SRH beat RCB in the final at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru in what turned out to be a truly entertaining match for the crowd as well as the audiences at home.


Mumbai had a dominating year in 2017, which much made up for an otherwise disappointing season in 2016. The team topped the table after the league stages, and lost to 2nd placed Rising Pune Supergiant by 20 runs in Qualifier 1, thus setting up a Qualifier 2 clash with KKR in Bengaluru. 

It turned out to be a low-scoring game thanks to an excellent spell of bowling by Karn Sharma for Mumbai. Krunal Pandya’s quick-fire 45* ensured a comfortable victory for MI. This ultimately set up a thrilling final against Rising Pune Supergiant. This, yet again, ended up being a low-scoring game as Mumbai only managed to set up a target of 130, which was considered below par at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Hyderabad. However, Mumbai managed to hold their nerve, and despite a modest 50 by Steve Smith for RPS, Mumbai clinched the game by 1 run and as a result, also their third IPL crown. 


2018 marked the arrival of CSK and Rajasthan Royals back in the IPL after a two-year suspension. While CSK went on to win the title by beating Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Wankhede Stadium, the Mumbai Indians had a disappointing end to the season. The team finished fifth and was just a win away from clinching the fourth spot. 


The 2019 IPL final is hard to forget for many, not only because it’s more recent, but because it was one of the best finals we’ve seen in the trophy’s history. Mumbai made its way to the top of the league table, which ensured a clash with the 2nd placed Chennai Super Kings in Qualifier 1. Mumbai won the game by 6 wickets and 9 balls to spare, and as a result, awaiting the winner of Qualifier 2 to meet them in the final. 

One of the most consistent finalists of the IPL, CSK managed to make it to the finals yet again. But Lasith Malinga’s final over spell turned out to be too good for CSK, thus helping Mumbai take the crown for the fourth time, and asserting their dominance on the Indian Premier League. 

Latest News