Mithali Raj & Co. to tour Sri Lanka for ICC Women’s Championship

The Indian Women’s Team will be playing a three-match series against Sri Lanka as a part of the ICC Women’s Championship in September


The Indian Women’s Cricket Team will be touring Sri Lanka from September 11 to 16 as a part of the ICC Women’s Championship. The International Cricket Council (ICC) declared on Monday that India will be on the Sri Lankan soil for the third round of the ICC Women’s Championship.

Sri Lanka, India, West Indies, and South Africa - The bottom four sides in the points table will be looking forward to making up their space along the other teams – Australia, England, Pakistan, and New Zealand to qualify for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2021.

Also Read: BCCI Declares Schedule For Home Series Against West Indies; 4th ODI To Be Played In Mumbai On October 29

The 2017 World Cup finalists, India, are on the sixth position currently with four points after six matches. The Indian Women’s team had earned the two points after a 2-1 series win over South Africa whereas Sri Lanka is yet to score a point. Therefore, the series will be crucial for both the teams.

The ICC Women’s Championship will see all eight sides taking on each other in a series of three ODIs home and away.

Meanwhile, Indian captain Mithali Raj stated that they have been looking forward to climbing up the table and work as a team. She also said that they will be playing to their caliber to gain maximum points from the series against Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka vs India

September 11: 1st ODI, Galle
September 13: 2nd ODI, Galle
September 16: 3rd ODI, Katunayake

Squad: Mithali Raj (captain), Tanya Bhatia, Ekta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Dayalan Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Harmanpreet Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy Smriti Mandhana, Shikha Pandey, Punam Raut, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Poonam Yadav.