Player List Announced for IPL 2021 Auction: What’s in Store for Mumbai Indians?

Player List Announced for IPL 2021 Auction: What’s in Store for Mumbai Indians?

Ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL) auction on February 18 in Chennai, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has released the full list of 292 players who will be up on auction. These players were shortlisted from the original list of 1,114 players who expressed interest in playing the 2021 edition of the competition. 

“₹2 crore is the highest reserve price and two Indian players - Harbhajan Singh and Kedar Jadhav -- and eight overseas players -- Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Shakib Al Hasan, Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Liam Plunkett, Jason Roy & Mark Wood have chosen to be slotted in the highest bracket,” a BCCI statement said. 

The statement also clarified that a total of 164 Indian players, 125 overseas players, and 3 players belonging to the Associate Nations will be available for the auction. 

ReadIPL 2021: These Players Could Be Crucial For Rohit Sharma Led Mumbai Indians

With up to 13 spots open, Royal Challengers Bangalore has the room to shake up its team significantly. Kings XI Punjab has the highest purse with ₹53.1 crores available following the release of Aussie all-rounder Glenn Maxwell and West Indies pacer Sheldon Cottrell. 

Among the interesting additions to this year’s IPL auctions will be Sachin Tendulkar’s son Arjun Tendulkar who is in the lowest tier with a base price of ₹20 lakhs. 

You can check out the full list of 292 players going under the hammer here. The 2021 IPL Auction will commence at 3 PM. 

Meanwhile, Mumbai Indians will look to capture some talent after letting go of a few international and Indian players ahead of the Feb 18 auctions. It’s unclear what Mumbai Indians are considering at the moment, though we shouldn’t expect a major shakeup given that the team has retained most of its firepower. 

Players retained by Mumbai Indians ahead of 2021 IPL auctions:

Rohit Sharma, Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Chris Lynn, Anmolpreet Singh, Saurabh Tiwary, Aditya Tare, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Anukul Roy, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult, Rahul Chahar, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mohsin Khan.

Players released:

Lasith Malinga, Nathan Coulter Nile, James Pattinson, Sherfane Rutherford, Mitchell McCleneghan, Digvijay Deshmukh, Prince Balwant Rai.

Also readIPL 2021: Mumbai Indians Release 7 Players, Full List Of MI Squad Ahead Of Auction

MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates