Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Mumbai continue their winning streak with win over Madhya Pradesh

Mumbai managed a comfortable nine-wicket win owing to blistering half-centuries by openers Jay Bista (68 off 36 balls) and Aditya Tare (74 not out off 48 balls) to chase the 160-run target with ease


Continuing their winning streak, Mumbai defeated Madhya Pradesh by nine wickets on November 11 at Wankhede Stadium. This is Mumbai's third victory in a row after consecutive wins against Mizoram and Haryana in the first two league games of Group D in the national T20 tournament.

Mumbai managed to secure an easy win owing to respective half-centuries by opening pair of Jay Bista (68 off 36 balls) and Aditya Tare (74 not out off 48 balls) who eased the task to chase the 160-run target. Electing to bat, Madhya Pradesh were off to a disastrous start with their opener Ashutosh Sharma being run out on a zero on the first ball of the innings.

In the meantime, as skipper Naman Ojha (22 off 17 balls) and number three Rajat Patidar (25 off 17 balls) looked to steady the innings with a 39-run stand, left-arm spinner Shams Mulani sent him back to the dugout. Later, number four batsman Parth Sahani hit a quickfire 47 off 36 balls, scoring three fours and two sixes, before being bowled by medium-pacer Shubham Ranjane.

Shams Mulani (1-17), Ranjane (1-24), Sujit Nayak (1-26) and Tushar Deshpande (1-34) were among bowlers who scalped the wickets for Mumbai. Chasing 160, Bista and Tare swept the match in their favour with a 111-run stand for the opening wicket.

While Bista smashed seven fours and four sixes, Tare hit 10 boundaries and two other hits over the fence. Despite Bista's dismissal, Mumbai managed an easy win as Tare took the onus on himself to complete the match. Tare along with skipper Suryakumar Yadav (20 not out off 11 balls) took the side home with 4.1 overs to spare.

Brief Scores

Madhya Pradesh 159/5 (Parth Sahani 47, Anand Bais 31 not out; Shams Mulani 1-17)lost to Mumbai 165/1 (Aditya Tare 74 not out, Jay Bista 68; Kuldeep Sen 1-29) by nine wickets.

Latest News