Thane Police Shield 2019: Mumbai Police Gymkhana emerge champions

Mumbai Police Gymkhana comfortably chased the target set by Palghar Police and scored 130 for 7 wickets in 19.3 overs


Mumbai Police Gymkhana bagged another title defeating Palghar Police by three wickets in the final of the Thane Police Shield 2019 which was played at the Dadoji Kondadeo Stadium, Thane.

Palghar Police after winning decided to bat first was restricted to 129 runs for the loss of 8 wickets from their quota of 20 overs. Number three batsman Bhargav Patil top-scored with 36 runs as the other batsmen were unable to stay long in the middle. Yash Singh (4 for 27) and Kailas Kolekar (2 for 19) were the most successful Mumbai Police bowlers who restricted the Palghar innings.

In reply, Mumbai Police Gymkhana comfortably chased the winning target reaching 130 for 7 wickets in 19.3 overs. Opening batsman Tanmay Mayekar scored 31 runs, while Amit Jadhav 33 not out and Kailas Kolekar 24 not out steered the Mumbai Police to a fluent victory. Sandesh Bharne (2 for 26) and Nitesh Mhatre (2 for 22) got the wickets for the Palghar Police team.

Brief scores: Palghar Police 129 for 8 wickets in 20 overs (Bhargav Patil 36; Yash Singh 4 for 27, Kailas Kolekar 2 for 19) lost to Mumbai Police Gymkhana 130 for 7 wickets in 19.3 overs (Tanmay Mayekar 31, Amit Jadhav 33*, Kailas Kolekar 24*; Sandesh Bharne 2/26, Nitesh Mhatre 2/22) by 3 wickets.