Vijay Hazare Trophy: Yashasvi Jaiswal's century helps Mumbai to an easy win against Kerala

Mumbai opener Yashasvi Jaiswal’s knock came off 132 balls and contained 14 fours and three sixes, while Tare hit five fours and a six in his 88-ball innings


In an easy win for the defending champions, Mumbai thrashed Kerala by eight wickets in the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Monday. Openers Yashasvi Jaiswal (122) and Aditya Tare (67) cashed in on their form as Mumbai easily chased the target of 200 in 38.2 overs.

The two managed to add 195 for the first wicket before both got out to part-time bowler Vishnu Vinod. Jaiswal’s knock came off 132 balls and contained 14 fours and three sixes, whereas Tare hit five fours and a six in his 88-ball innings.

Batting first, Kerala faced the experienced pace duo of Shardul Thakur and Dhawal Kulkarni and were bundled out for 199 in 48.4 overs after opting to bat.

Kerala skipper Robin Uthappa, who has been struggling for form, top-scored with 43, while young guns Sanju Samson and Sachin Baby fell cheaply. Both Sanju (15) and Sachin (8) were sent back by Thakur.

By the 16th over, Kerala lost half their side with only 82 on the board. The team would have been bundled under 150 had it not have been a fighting ninth-wicket stand of 68 by Akshay Chandran (29) and M D Nidheesh (40) that took them close to the 200-run mark after they were reduced to 130/8 at one stage.

Brief scores: Kerala 199 in 48.4 overs (Robin Uthappa 43, M D Nidheesh 40; Shardul Thakur 3/40, Dhawal Kulkarni 3/54) lost to Mumbai in 38.2 overs (Yashasvi Jaiswal 122, Aditya Tare 67; Vishnu Vinod 2/16). Points: Mumbai 4; Kerala 0.

Latest News