Mumbai Police seizes 6,080 vehicles in a day

On Monday, the police imposed a blockage and took action against 6,080 vehicles.

Mumbai Police seizes 6,080 vehicles in a day

The Mumbai Police had earlier asked the citizens to not venture out of the 2 km radius, except for work, or medical emergencies. This was enforced by the Police with the surge in the number of coronavirus cases in the city. The Police are now seizing blocked vehicles if they go beyond 2 km radius for no good reason. On Monday, Mumbai Police seized 6,080 vehicles.

With the relaxations in the lockdown, the citizens had begun to crowd the streets with a large number of vehicles. As a consequence, the Mumbai Police had started cracking down on such individuals. On Monday, the police imposed a blockage and took action against these 6,080 vehicles.

With the threat of the coronavirus still looming over us, the observation of social distancing protocols is a must. Furthermore, usage of a sanitizer, remaining at home, frequent handwashing is of utmost importance. The Deputy Commissioner of Police Pranay Ashok, appealed to the people, asking them to abide by these rules to contain the spread of the contagious disease. He also added that wearing a face mask is mandatory.

The areas where the vehicles were confiscated:

  • Zone 1: In cuff Parade, Colaba, Marine Drive, Azad Maidan, Mata Ramabai Marg, Dongri, and JJ Marg Police had seized 875 vehicles in Thane area.
  • Zone 2: LT route. VP Road, the Police had seized 654 vehicles in DB Marg, Paydhuni, Gamdevi and Malabar Hill areas.
  • Zone 3: Taddev, Nagpada, Agripada, Byculla, Worli, N.M. Joshi Marg area, police seized 392 vehicles.
  • Zone 4: Police seize 430 vehicles in Kalachuki, Bhoiwada, Matunga, Sion, RA Kidwai, Wadala, Antap Hill area
  • Zone 5: Dadar, Shivaji Park, Mahim, Shahu Nagar, Dharavi, Kurla, Vinoba Bhave Nagar, the police seized 159 vehicles in the area.
  • Zone 6: Chamber, Nehru Nagar, Chunnabhatti, Govandi, Trombay, RCF, Mankhurd, Deonar, Shivajinagar, Tilak Nagar area, police seized 1138 vehicles
  • Zone 7: Police seized 223 vehicles at Navghar, Kanjurmarg, Bhandup, Parksite, Mulund, Vikhroli, Ghatkopar, Pantnagar
  • Zone 8: Police seized 187 vehicles in Bandra (BKC), Kherwadi, Nirmalnagar, Wakola, Vile Parle, Sahar and Airport areas
  • Zone 9: Bandra (West), Khar, Santacruz, Juhu, DN Nagar, Versova, Oshiwara, Amboli.
  • Zone 10: Sakinaka, Powai, Andheri, Jogeshwari, Meghwadi, MIDC, the highest number of 461 vehicles was seized by the police.
  • Zone 11: Malvani, Borivali, Goregaon, Malad, MHB, Charkop, Bangurnagar, Gorai, Kandivali, the police seized 389 vehicles.
  • Zone 12: namely Vanrai, Aarey, Dindoshi, Kurar, Samtanagar, Kasturba, Dahisar, the police seized 418 vehicles.

The Police also seized 172 vehicles in 0 Port Zone which includes the Wadala, Shivdi, Yellowgate, Mumbai Sea 1 and the Mumbai Sea 2 area.

MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates