Mogaveera SC win Ramnath Payyade Football trophy

Mogaveera SC win Ramnath Payyade Football trophy

Mogaveera SC defeated Jai Bharat SC 7-6 via the sudden death penalty shootout in a tense and exciting final of the 21st Late Shri Ramanath Payyade Memorial Football League Tournament conducted by the Karnataka Sporting Association and played at the KSA ground, Cross Maidan.

Both sides created quite a number of chances at either end, but neither of the strikers found success in finding the net during normal time. As a result, the referee resorted to the tie-breaker to resolve the outcome of the match. However, the deadlock continued as the five sets of penalty kicks were locked at 5-all and sudden death was enforced. In the sudden death, Mendis and Melroy Naronha scored for Mogaveera while Soumil Damor missed his penalty for Jai Bharat and thus Mogaveera SC won the trophy. 

Chief Guest Aditya Thackeray, Chairman MDFA and President Yuva Sena, presented the ‘Champions Trophy’.

MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates