North-West LS seat will decide Congress leader Sanjay Nirupam's political career

In Mumbai's North-West Lok Sabha constituency, the voting took place in six assembly sections and the fight was between Congress leader Sanjay Nirupam and Shiv Sena candidate Gajanan Kirtikar

  • North-West LS seat will decide Congress leader Sanjay Nirupam's political career

The voting process was concluded in Mumbai on April 29 and from city’s North-West Lok Sabha constituency, Congress fielded Sanjay Nirupam against Shiv Sena incumbent MP Gajanan Kirtikar. The political observation around this constituency and the candidates from two major parties are quite interesting. 

Late Congress leader Gurudas Kamat was Congress’ candidate from this seat. However, after Kamat’s unfortunate demise, senior Congress leader Sanjay Nirupam was given the ticket from North-West Lok Sabha constituency. Ahead of the general elections this year, Nirupam was removed as party’s Mumbai unit President and was replaced by Congress leader Milind Deora. 

Nirupam has been accused of creating factions inside Mumbai Congress. Milind Deora had earlier expressed his disappointment publically regarding the same. As this happened, the party high-command replaced Nirupam with Deora. 

In public opinion, Gajanan Kirtikar's presence before the media and the people has been very minimal. Kirtikar won the 2014 general elections under the influence of “Modi wave”. On the other hand, Nirupam has campaigned extensively to gather votes. However, the decision taken by Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) to not campaign for Nirupam can affect his chances to win. 

Almost 54.26 per cent voter turnout has been recorded in the city’s North-West Lok Sabha constituency. The highest number of votes have been registered in Jogeshwari West assembly division of the constituency while the lowest has been recorded in Versova area.

In Mumbai North-West LS seat, the voting process took place in six assembly sections of the constituency.

Total Voters (in lakh)Turnout of Voters (in lakhs)Assembly SectionPercentage
2.791.68Jogeshwari East60.36
3.011.51Andheri West50.16
2.711.55Andheri East57.31
Total - 17.329.39

Latest News