Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019: MNS and Shiv Sena's great Mahim tussle

Raj Thackeray-led MNS has fielded Sandeep Deshpande from Mahim assembly constituency for 2019 Maharashtra Assembly elections whereas Shiv Sena has fielded Sada Sarvankar. Therefore, the tussle has become an interesting battle between the two parties

Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019: MNS and Shiv Sena's great Mahim tussle

The much-anticipated results for the Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019 will be declared on Thursday, October 24, and the counting for the same has already begun. This will decide the fate of the representatives in 288 constituencies. Meanwhile, amongst the 36 constituencies in Mumbai, the tussle for the Mahim seat has become an interesting one.

The Mahim constituency will witness a clash between the candidates from Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena and Raj Thackeray-led Maharashtra Navnirman Sena. The Sena has fielded Sada Sarvankar whereas MNS has fielded Sandeep Deshpande. Notably, Mahim constituency has witnessed the dominance of Shiv Sena over the years.

After contesting assembly elections independently in 2014, Shiv Sena decided to form an alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for the 2019 Maharashtra Assembly Elections. Previously, Raj Thackeray had addressed the voters during his speeches and had specially asked them to vote for his party so that MNS can establish themselves as a strong opposition party.

Thackeray further added that it was essential that the opposition must be capable of asking difficult questions to the authorities in power and emphasised that MNS was able to do so.

Read this story in मराठी