Worli Assembly constituency: Aditya Thackeray to face NCP's Suresh Mane

Of the 288 assembly seats, Mankhurd Shivaji Nagar is the 182nd constituency in Maharashtra which is a part of Mumbai city

Worli Assembly constituency: Aditya Thackeray to face NCP's Suresh Mane

The assembly elections in Maharashtra are scheduled on October 21 and people will vote to elect their representative in 288 constituencies across the state. 

Of the 288 assembly seats, Mankhurd Shivaji Nagar is the 182nd constituency in Maharashtra which is a part of Mumbai city and comes under the city's South Parliamentary constituency. 

Under the Mumbai South Lok Sabha constituency, the assembly constituency includes Worli, Sewri, Byculla, Malabar Hill, Mumbadevi and Colaba.

Of the 2,65,091 voters in Worli assembly constituency, 1,49,067 are males and 1,16,024 are female voters. 


In Worli constituency, the prominent faces which are contesting the assembly polls in 2019 include Shiv Sena's Aditya Thackeray and Nationalist Congress Party's (NCP) Suresh Mane among others. 

In the past, Portuguese traders used to come to India from Worli to do business. Currently, this assembly constituency is known for huge buildings and is a home to Mumbai's fishermen communities.

Aditya Thackeray is the first from his family to participate in the election process and is contesting from Worli assembly constituency. Earlier, former Mumbai Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) President Sachin Ahir was the elected MLA from the same constituency. 

After Ahir joined Shiv Sena ahead of the assembly polls, Shiv Sena made it clear that Aditya Thackeray will be contesting from the Worli constituency. 

Result in Previous polls

Shiv Sena had maintained its stronghold in the Worli assembly constituency. The constituency is spread over Haji Ali Dargah, Worli Naka, Phoenix Mall, Lower Parel West, Kamgar Nagar, Siddharth Nagar and Koliwara. From 1990 to 2004, Dattaji Nalwade of Shiv Sena won the seat four times.

In 2009, Ahir won against Shiv Sena candidate Ashish Chemburkar. Ahir registered 52,398 votes while Chemburkar managed to get 47,104 votes. However, in 2014, Shiv Sena candidate Sunil Shinde defeated Ahir by a massive margin of 60,625 votes. 

Problems in Worli constituency

Traffic is the biggest problem in the Worli area. Along with this, re-development of old chawls is also a big issue in the area. Rehabilitation of BDD chawl is also one of the main problems in the area.