Lok Sabha Elections: Preparations conclude for vote counting in Mumbai

The counting for six Lok Sabha seats in Mumbai will be carried out in three different counting centres


Ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha election result on May 23, the Election Commission is almost done with the preparations for counting of votes in Mumbai and across the country. Amid the EVM row sparked by the opposition in some parts of the country, the security has been tightened.

In Maharashtra, the counting will be held in 38 counting centres for 48 Lok Sabha seats. After the polling dates, the EVMs were moved to strongroom from the polling booth. The Election Commission officials have claimed that the EVMs are secured. 

In Mumbai, the poll counting will be held in three different counting centres for the six Lok Sabha constituencies. The counting will be carried out in phases in 36 assembly constituencies for six LS seats. 

For Mumbai North, North-West and North-Central seat, the counting will be conducted in Nesco centre in Goregaon. New Sewri Warehouse will be the counting centre for South Central and South LS constituency. For Mumbai North-East, the counting will be held in Udayachal Primary School in Vikhroli East.

The poll counting will start on May 23 around 8:00 in the morning while the government employees who are deployed on election duty will start coming around 6:30 in the morning. 

Latest News