Lok Sabha Elections: SP-BSP alliance jointly announce 19 candidates in Maharashtra

Samajwadi Party announced four of its candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Maharashtra while Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) has declared 15 candidates

Lok Sabha Elections: SP-BSP alliance jointly announce 19 candidates in Maharashtra

In Maharashtra, Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) on Thursday jointly announced the list of 19 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections which will be held in April next month. 

Earlier, SP and BSP had decided to contest the upcoming LS polls together leaving out the option to join hands with Congress. BSP has declared 15 candidates in the state while SP has only announced four candidates. 

The SP-BSP alliance has named Jamal Ibrahim from Nagpur LS constituency along with Rahul Sarode from Solapur seat. The alliance declared that they will contest the LS poll on all 48 seats in Maharashtra. Meanwhile, the SP-BSP front is trying to initiate talks with anti-Congress and anti-BJP parties in the state. 

As this happens, Prakash Ambedkar-led Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) can also announce their remaining candidates which can affect the vote share of the Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) alliance. 

While talking to the media, Maharashtra BSP President Suresh Sakhre said that Congress itself doesn’t want to be a part of this alliance and is benefiting the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) by doing so. 

Also Read - Mission Shakti: Raj Thackeray Slams PM Modi Over His Address To Nation

SP has declared the names of four candidates in the state and has fielded Subhash Pasi from Mumbai North West LS constituency to contest against Congress leader Sanjay Nirupam.

MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates