Greater Mumbai District Badminton Championship 2019: Viplav retains men’s singles title, Taarini wins a grand triple crowns

Talented youngster Taarini Suri won three singles titles: Girls’ under-13, under-15 and under-17 of the Greater Mumbai District Badminton Championship 2019


Viplav Kuvale retained the men’s singles title defeating unseeded Shubham Pal in straight games 21-17, 21-15  in the men’s singles final of the Greater Mumbai District Badminton Championship 2019, organized by the Greater Mumbai Badminton Association and hosted by the cricket Club of India and played at the club’s badminton courts.

Meanwhile, Taarini Suri won her third title. The 12-year-old added the girls’ under-13 crown to the under-15 and under-17 titles she had earlier won. She did not have break into a sweat or get on the court as her rival Naishaa Kaur Bhatoye failed to report for the final and Taarini was awarded a walkover which ensured she completed a grand treble.

Akshaya Warang bagged the women’s singles title as she smoothly cruised to a 21-6, 21-12 win Riya Arolkar in a one-sided final.

In the boys’ under-19 singles final, the top-seeded Shubham got the better of Rahil Parikh 26-24, 21-17, while Darius Pardiwala clinched the boys’ under-15 singles title defeating Julian N. Korda 21-10, 21-17.

In the girls’ under-19 singles final, the number one seed Shivani Herlekar prevailed over second seed Samiaa Shah 21-15, 23-21 to emerge champion.

Earlier, the top-seeded pair of Akshaya and Viplav bagged the mixed doubles crown when the sidelined unseeded duo of Kareena Madan and Siddhesh Aroskar 21-15, 21-13. Akshaya also won three titles as she and Riya Arolkar had won the women’s doubles final.

Results (all finals)

Girls’ U-13 singles: 2-Taarini Suri W/o 1-Naishaa Kaur Bhatoye.

Boys’ U-13 singles: Angad Tathgir beat Nirmit Nayak 21-9, 21-14.

Boys’ U-15 singles: 1-Darius Pardiwala beat Julian N. Korda 21-10, 21-17.

Girls’ U-19 singles: 1-Shivani Herlekar beat 2-Samiaa Shah 21-15, 23-21.

Boys’ U-19 singles: 1-Shubham Pal beat Rahil Parikh 26-24, 21-17.

Men’s singles: 1-Viplav Kuvale beat Shubham Pal 21-17, 21-15.

Women singles: Akshaya Warang beat Riya Arolkar 21-6,, 21-12.

Mixed doubles: 1-Viplav Vilas Kuvale/Akshaya Warang beat Siddhesh Aroskar/Kareena Madan 21-15, 21-13.

Latest News