Submitting your vote now...
In the upcoming match between RR and MI, which team will win?
*One Lucky Winner per match. Read T&C
Thank you for the vote. Kindly provide your details so we can get in touch with you.
Enter valid name
Enter valid number

New Police Commissioner On Cards For Mumbai

The procedure to shortlist the next Mumbai Police commissioner is underway after the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) rejected the Maharashtra government’s proposal for a two-year extension to current Director General of Police D D Padsalgikar


A three-month extension given to Padsalgikar, a 1982-batch officer, is set to end this month and the procedure to shortlist the next Mumbai Police commissioner is underway.

The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) denied state government's proposal for an extension for the current Director General Police Dattatray Padsalgikar. 

Sanjay Barve (1987) and Param Bir Singh and Dr K Venkatesham (1988) are said to be top contenders Padsalgikar’s post. Current Mumbai Police commissioner Subodh Kumar Jaiswal is set to replace him as DGP. 

Barve was made director general of Anti-Corruption Bureau in 2018. He had in the past served as joint commissioner of police (Traffic) in Mumbai and State Intelligence Department commissioner. Param Bir Singh, currently the additional director general (Law and Order), was earlier the Thane Police commissioner.