BMC begins the process to elect Mumbai's new mayor

The incumbent Mumbai mayor, Vishwanath Mahadeshwar's tenure comes to an end on November 21. He was elected in March 2017 when the seat was in the open category, got an extension due to the Assembly election

BMC begins the process to elect Mumbai's new mayor

As the tenure of Mayor Vishwanath Mahadeshwar comes to an end on November 21, the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) has begun preparations to elect a new mayor. According to the officials, the new mayor will be chosen by a lottery system held for male and female candidates from Scheduled Tribes (ST), Other Backward Castes (OBC), and the general category.

If it boils down to deciding to reserve the post for only ST candidates, then the list would narrow down the choice to only two Shiv Sena candidates.

An official from the Municipal Secretary department said,

The lottery will be held by the state urban development department after the new government is formed. We are expecting this to happen after November 10. The current mayor’s tenure will end on November 21 and the new mayor has to be elected on November 22."

Earlier, Mahadeshwar was elected in March 2017, when the seat was in the open category. However, he had received an extension due to the Assembly Elections 2019 as his two-and-a-half-year term was scheduled to end in the first week of September.

Before Mahadeshwar, Snehal Ambekar was the mayor since the seat was reserved for SC women.  The Mumbai Mayor recently had contested Assembly Elections 2019 from the Bandra East constituency but was defeated by Congress candidate Zeeshan Siddique.

According to the BMC officials, if the seat is reserved for ST men, there is only one corporator from Khar Danda, Sanjay Agaldare whereas if it is reserved for ST women, then Pratima Khoparde, the corporator from Versova, might go on to become the new mayor.

MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates