Ward 139 sees colourful battle for BMC seat

Ward 139 sees colourful battle for BMC seat

Shivaji Nagar - Heavyweights are battling it out in ward number - 139 for the forthcoming BMC elections.

Former NCP corporator Rajendra Waghmare, Bahujan Mahasangh corporator Arun Kamble, Congress district president Velu Swamy Naidu, Shiv Sena leader Krishna Patil and independent candidate Ramesh Kamble are all in the fray in this ward. Ramesh Kamble won as Congress corporator in the last civic elections, but since he has been denied a party ticket this time, he is contesting as an independent candidate.

Sena leader Krishna Patil was earlier employed with the Mumbai Police. He is pitted against Gangaram Kamble, a police officer who is contesting as an independent candidate. Parts of Ward 129 and Ward 137 were merged to form Ward number - 139. There is a huge vote bank of Dalits and Muslims in the area and it will be interesting to see who will emerge as the winner.

Read this story in मराठी
MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates