72nd Police Shield Cricket Tournament 2019: Chiklikar's double ton powers MCA Colts to a 117-run win

National CC made quite a strong reply but were restricted as they bowled out 320 in 61.2 overs. Vijaykumar Gohil (4 for 101) got crucial wickets to ensure MCA Colts won by 117 runs


Kaushik Chiklikar cracked a solid unbeaten double century 200* (196 balls, 22x4, 3x6) and powered MCA Colts to a 117 runs victory against National Cricket Club on the second day of the two-day first round Group-D match of the 72nd Police Invitation Shield Cricket Tournament 2019, and played at the National Cricket Club ground on Sunday.

Put in to bat first MCA Colts amassed a massive total of 437 for the loss of four wickets in their stipulated 70 overs. Besides Chiklikar’s heroics, the other batters who also made good contributions were Agni Chopra's 89 runs and Siddharth Aakre's 73 runs. On the other hand, Ravinder Solanki (3 for 138) was the most successful National CC bowler.

National CC made quite a strong reply but were restricted as they bowled out 320 in 61.2 overs. Shashikant Kadam 66 runs, Sachin Gill 47 runs, Vishal Dhagaonkar 41 runs tried their best to keep them in the chase. Vijaykumar Gohil (4 for 101) got crucial wickets to ensure MCA Colts won by 117 runs.

In another Group-D match, hosts Mumbai Police marched to a convincing six-wicket victory over New Hind Sporting Club. Batting first, New Hind Sporting Club were dismissed for 117 in 30 overs and Mumbai  Police comfortably chased down the target scoring 118 for the loss of four wickets in 27.4 overs. Sunil Patil was unbeaten on 51 runs and Shrikant Limbole scored 30 runs as the Policemen easily crossed the finish line.

Earlier, on Saturday, as the tournament was inaugurated, splendid bowling performances from Aman Sheoran (5 for 35) and Amit Pandey (4 for 36) placed host Mumbai Police in a commanding position against New Hind Sporting Club in a Group-D match on the opening day.

Mumbai Police after electing to field first dismissed New Hind Sporting Club for 117 in 30 overs with Sheoran and Pandey doing the damage. Kushal Dawane topped scored with 30 runs. In reply, Mumbai Police scored 60 for the loss of three wickets 17.2 overs and require another 68 runs to clinch victory.

Earlier, Shri Sanjay Barve, Commissioner of Police, Mumbai and Chairman & Patron of the Police Shield Cricket Tournament inaugurated the tournament. Also present at the inauguration function was Shri. Nawal Bajaj, Jt. Commissioner of Police (Admn.), Mumbai, Shri Nishith Mishra, Addl. Comm. of Police (South Region) & Shri Deepak Patil, Dy. Supdt. of Police and Police Shield Committee Members & MCA Officials.

Brief scores


Parkophene Cricketers: 343/9 in 70 overs (Amogh Bhatkal 118 (146 balls, 16x4, 1x6), Sagar Mishra 64, Prasad Pawar 45, Pardeep Sahu 35*; Aquib Shaikh 3/63) beat Islam Gymkhana: 183 all out in 52.2 overs (Aquib Shaikh 41, Shamit Shetty 38, Mohammedi Shaikh 32; Sagar Mishra-7/41). Result: Parkophene Cricketers won by 160 runs.

Karnatak Sporting Association: 168 all out in 53.3 overs (Rohan Kerkar 48, Prateek Patale 47; Prashant Bhoir 3/46) lost to Sponsor’s XI - Eagle Thane Strikers: 169/2 in 28.3 overs (Kaustubh Pawar 77*, Iandev Chauhan 38, Aryaman Birla 34). Result: Eagle Thane Strikers won by 8 wickets.


Shivaji Park Gymkhana: 181 all out in 47.4 overs (Vedant Murkar 54, Aditya Khanvilkar 40; Rohan Raje - 3/29) lost to Payyade Sports Club: 182/7 in 41.1 overs (Akhil Herwadkar 50, Sarfaraz Khan 49; Varun Joijode - 3/58). Result: Payyade Sports Club won by 3 wickets.

Parsee Gymkhana: 393/8 in 70 overs (Manish Rao 136* (126 balls, 14x4, 4x 6), Vaibhav Kalamkar 104 (88 balls, 15x4), Aakarshit Gomel 37, Raunaq Sharma 30; Vikaschandra Singh 3/98) beat Sind Sports Club: 248 all out in 68.5 overs (Jaideep Pardeshi 64, Satyalaksh Jain 57, Kaustubh Kolambkar 49; Aditya Dhumal 4/70, Raunaq Sharma 3/61). Result: Parsee Gymkhana won by 145 runs.


PJ Hindu Gymkhana: 200 all out in 54.4 overs (Anup Revandkar 78, Salil Agharkar 42; Ankush Jaiswal 4/22) lost to MIG Cricket Club: 202/1 in 33.5 overs (Wasim Jaffer 101* retired hurt (79 balls, 14x4, 2x6), Kevin D’Almeida 75*). Result: MIG Cricket Club won by 9 wickets.

Bombay Gymkhana: 302/7 in 70 overs (Nishadh Gabhawala 115* (156 balls, 10x4), Ankit Shastri 58, Ayaz Ahmed Khan 39; Kruthik Hanagavadi 3/71) lost to Cricket Club of India: 303/5 in 68.1 overs (Paul Valthaty 86, Ajinkya Patil 75*, Vinit Indulkar 56, Parth Shah 39). Result:  Cricket Club of India won by 5 wickets.


New Hind Sporting Club: 117 all out in 30 overs (Kushal Dawane 30; Aman Sheoran 5/35, Amit Pandey 4/36) lost to Mumbai Police: 118/4 in 27.4 overs (Sunil Patil 51*, Shrikant Limbole 30). Result: Mumbai Police won by 6 wickets.

MCA Colts: 437/4 in 70 overs (Kaushik Chiklikar 200* (196 balls, 22x4, 3x6), Agni Chopra 89, Siddharth Aakre 73, Utkarsh Raut 37*; Ravinder Solanki 3/138) beat National Cricket Club: 320 all out in 61.2 overs (Shashikant Kadam 66, Sachin Gill 47, Vishal Dhagaonkar 41, Saieed Shaikh 33, Prathmesh Pawar 32, Rahul Sawant 32, Sumeet Dhekale 31; Vijaykumar Gohil 4/101). Result:  MCA Colts won by 117 runs.

Latest News