Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane in ICC Champions Trophy Squad

Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane in ICC Champions Trophy Squad

The BCCI on Monday announced a 15-member squad for the ICC Champions Trophy, to be played in England and Wales from June 1. The 15-member squad, led by Virat Kohli, sees the return of Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami.

Rohit Sharma has recovered from the thigh injury he sustained during the Test series against England last year, Sharma has replaced in-form opener KL Rahul, who has been sidelined due to a shoulder injury.

Manish Pandey, who was not part of the playing XI in the three ODIs that India played against England, retained his place in the squad. Mahendra Singh Dhoni will be the wicket-keeper in the side.">#CT">#TeamIndia - Virat (C), Shikhar, Rohit, Rahane, MSD (wk), Yuvraj, Kedar, Hardik, Ashwin, Jadeja, Shami, Umesh, Bhuvi, Bumrah & Manish">

— BCCI (@BCCI)">May 8, 2017

India will play their Champions Trophy opener against arch-rivals Pakistan on June 4. The event itself will get underway on June 1.According to ANI, the MSK Prasad-led panel of selectors has also put five players -- Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Suresh Raina and Dinesh Karthik on standby for the tournament.

MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates