BCCI declares Test squad against South Africa

Rohit Sharma will finally get a go in the Test format again as KL Rahul was overlooked from the side following a below-par show in West Indies


The Indian cricket team have had a successful tour of West Indies as they were unbeaten across all formats against West Indies. Accordingly, now Virat Kohli and Co will get the long home season underway when they take on South Africa for three T20Is and as many Tests starting in a couple of days time.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) recently announced the squad for Test matches against the Proteas. Accordingly, Hardik Pandya, who was rested following India's ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 campaign, will be making a return to the T20I squad, whereas Shubman Gill received his maiden call-up to the Test side.

However, the key highlight of the announcement was Rohit Sharma's inclusion in the squad after KL Rahul was let go from the side following a below-par show in the Caribbean. On the other hand, former captain MS Dhoni was left out of the T20I squad. 

The wicketkeeper-batsman, who had led India to their 2011 World Cup triumph on the home soil had faced criticism due to his dull performance at the Cricket World Cup 2019. After which, the former captain, an honorary lieutenant colonel in a reserve force, decided to serve in the military.


India's Test squad: Virat Kohli (C), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill

Full schedule of South Africa tour of India 2019

15 September–India vs South Africa 1st T20I in Dharamsala

18 September– India vs South Africa 2nd T20I in Mohali

22 September– India vs South Africa 3rd T20I in Bengaluru

2-6 October– India vs South Africa 1st Test at in Visakhapatnam

10-14 October– India vs South Africa 2nd Test in Pune

19-23 October– India vs South Africa 3rd Test in Ranchi.

Latest News