Mumbai Cricket Association launches the first-ever T-20 Mumbai League

The association is looking to promote local talent in the city and create a grand spectacle for cricket lovers and will capture the passion and essence of Mumbai


The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) will be launching its first ever T20 Mumbai League in Mumbai on December 7, 2017. 

The Mumbai T20 league is a new cricket platform being instituted by the MCA (rights) for which they have appointed the consortium of IIFL Investment Managers and its associated companies through a special purpose entity (IIFL Group), the Lead Member of the Consortium and Wizcraft Group to plan, execute the league in its entirety. The consortium will be represented under the name and banner of Probability Sports LLP. 

“The Home of Cricket-Mumbai” will now have its own league of twenty20 matches which provides a platform for its own local talent. Mumbai being the central hub for business and entertainment and cricket being the most popular sport in the country, the league will create a grand spectacle for cricket lovers and will capture the passion and essence of Mumbai.

The vision of the League is to identify local talent from within the city of Mumbai and give them an opportunity to pursue their dreams while representing their respective zones. This will give a platform to Mumbai players to showcase their skills and talent and put themselves in the shop window for bigger opportunities in the IPL as well as the Indian team. The league aims to become a feeder to the IPL teams which should be a major motivation for the cricketers to stand out in this league.

Mumbai has considerable talent and there are a lot of local boys who are fantastic but do not get the opportunity on a bigger stage. This league will give them a chance to showcase their talent and give them an opportunity to move ahead in Life." 

Adv. Ashish Shelar – President, MCA was thrilled to be launching the league.

The MumbaiT20 league will divide the city into six zones which are Mumbai North West, Mumbai North East, Mumbai North, Mumbai North Central, Mumbai South and Mumbai South Central respectively. MCA will provide a list of the best Mumbai origin local club talent with several IPL players in the mix. They will be placed in a central player pool to then join the teams and give Mumbai the greatest experience of its most popular sport.

The league will consist of six teams playing on a round robin basis (all play all). The top two teams in the league with the most points accumulated will play a final match to decide the first year winner. The Opening Ceremony will take place on January 2 and the matches will begin from January 4 There will be three matches played in a day at the famous Wankhede Stadium followed by the finals on January 9.

Latest News