The Mumbai Police Invitation Shield Cricket Tournament organised by the Mumbai Police Gymkhana started on Saturday. The tournament was inaugurated by D. D. Padsalgikar, Commissioner of Police, Mumbai & Chairman of the Police Shield Cricket Tournament inaugurated the tournament at the Police Gymkhana.

At this event, members of Shivaji Park Gymkhana, Worli Sports Club and other gymkhanas were also present.

There are 16 teams in this tournament and all teams have been divided into four groups. Top Mumbai teams are also included. Apart from this, many national level players are also participating in the tournament.

This tournament will be played in accordance with the new rules of the Mumbai Cricket Association. The first match was played between Jain Irrigation and Mumbai Police.

The competition has been organised by the Mumbai Police Gymkhana for last 70 years. Players like Ajit Wadekar, Sachin Tendulkar and Vinod Kambli have also played in this gymkhana. Police Gymkhana has also started a free cricket training for police officials’ kids.

Teams involved in the tournament

Mumbai Police, MCA Colts, Jain Irrigation, Parsi Gymkhana, PJ Hindu Gymkhana, Islam Gymkhana, Cricket Club of India, Bombay Gymkhana, Payyade Sports Club, Dr DY Patil Sports Association, Parakhophen Cricketers, Dadar Union Sports Club, Sindh Sports Club, MIG Cricket Club, New Hind Sporting Club, Karnataka Sporting Association.

Latest News