Mumbai batsman Wasim Jaffer to lead Vidarbha in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Regular Vidarbha captain Faiz Fazal, who suffered a hand injury while representing India Green in the Duleep Trophy, will not be available


Mumbai cricketer and veteran batsman Wasim Jaffer will be leading Vidarbha in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20, which will begin from September 24. The two-time Ranji champion team was previously led by regular captain, Faiz Fazal. However, Fazal had injured himself while playing for India Green in Duleep Trophy and will not be available.

The Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) announced a 15-member squad, sans Fazal, on Saturday. A senior official stated that the injury was a minor one and therefore, he has been undergoing treatment. He added that once he is cleared, he will join the side but till then Wasim Jaffer will lead the side.

Meanwhile, Indian pacer Umesh Yadav will be available for the entire duration of the tournament after he was overlooked for the Test series against South Africa.

Vidarbha, placed in Elite Group B, will begin its campaign against Delhi in Vadodara. Alongside, Maharashtra, Himachal Pradesh, Baroda, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, Haryana and Punjab are the other states in the group.

Vidarbha squad: Wasim Jaffer (captain), R. Sanjay, Atharva Taide, Ganesh Satish, Rushabh Rathod, Apoorva Wankhede, Jitesh Sharma (wicketkeeper), Akshay Wadkar (wicketkeeper), Akshay Wakhare, Akshay Karnewar, Aditya Sarvate, Umesh Yadav, Yash Thakur, Darshan Nalkande, Shrikant Wagh

Latest News