Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Shreyas Iyer to lead Mumbai as Ajinkya Rahane unavailable for knockout stage

Indian batsman Ajinkya Rahane has stated that he will be unavailable for the Super League stage of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Alongside, Dhawal Kulkarni will be fit for the match


Mumbai lad Shreyas Iyer will captain the Mumbai team in the Super League stage of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, which will begin in Indore on Friday. Meanwhile, Indian Test specialist Ajinkya Rahane has ruled out reports of his injury and stated that he just isn't available for the knockout stage.

The two teams to qualify from Group C are Mumbai and Railways. Accordingly, the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) announced a 15-member squad for the match on their official website.

Also Read: Manchester City Owner Interested In Investing In Mumbai City FC: Reports

Right-arm pacer Dhawal Kulkarni, who was said to be injured, is included in the squad and is reported to lead the pace attack. Mumbai take on Karnataka in their first game at the Holkar stadium on March 11, Monday.

Mumbai squad: Shreyas Iyer (Captain),Dhawal Kulkarni, Shardul Thakur, Siddhesh Lad, Jay Bista, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav, Tushar Deshpande, Aditya Tare, Eknath Kerkar, Shubham Ranjane, Akash Parkar, Shams Mulani, Dhrumil Matkar and Royston Dias.