Active Cases
Cases in last 1 day

Diwali 2020: Muhurat timings for this year's Dhanteras and Lakshmi Puja

This year people will celebrate Diwali on Saturday, November 14, 2020, all over the country. Amavasya tithi begins on November 14 from 2:17 pm and ends at 10:36 am on November 15, 2020.

Diwali 2020: Muhurat timings for this year's Dhanteras and Lakshmi Puja

Diwali, also known as Deepavali, the festival of lights is celebrated with great fervour across India. The festival is celebrated uniquely in every state but amid the COVID-19 pandemic, Diwali 2020 will also be low key just like other festivities.

As Diwali and firecrackers go hand-in-hand, it comes with a constant hazard to health due to the rising air pollution. The air pollution level in most cities including Mumbai has skyrocketed in the past few days. Hence it is our moral and social duty to act upon this hazard and dilute its impact. In Mumbai, there is a ban on bursting firecrackers expect on the day of Lakshmi Puja. 

So this year, instead of Diwali fireworks, it would be great if that time and energy are spent on making rangolis, cooking desserts or even trying our hand at making Diwali gifts. Let there be light, rangoli and lots of fun with the family at home! CM Uddhav Thackeray in his address to the citizens also requested people to refrain from paying a visit but to send in their wishes virtually.

It is also believed that Goddess Lakshmi was born on Diwali during the churning of the cosmic ocean (Samudra Manthan). Thus, Goddess Lakshmi is the most significant deity during Diwali Puja.

According to drikpanchang, this year people will celebrate Diwali on November 14, 2020, all over the country. Amavasya tithi begins on November 14 from 2:17 pm and ends at 10:36 am on November 15, 2020. The most auspicious time to do Diwali Puja is after sunset. The time period after sunset is known as Pradosh. This year Pradosh Kaal is from 05:28 pm to 08:07 pm. For Mumbaikars, the best muhurat auspicious time is between 6:01 pm to 8:01 pm.

Diwali is the five days festivity which begins on Dhanteras and ends on Bhaiya Dooj. Here are the complete details about the five days of Diwali week:

Day 1: Govatsa Dwadashi is considered as the first day of Deepavali. This year, Govatsa Dwadashi is on Thursday, November 12, 2020. It is celebrated one day before Dhanteras. On this day cows and calves are worshipped. In Maharashtra, Govatsa Dwadashi is known as Vasu Baras.

Day 2: This year Dhanteras Puja will be observed on Friday, November 13, 2020. Dhanteras Puja muhurat is from 05:28 pm to 05:59 pm.

Day 3: Kali Chaudas is observed during Chaturdashi Tithi during Diwali festivity. This year Kali Chaudas will fall on the same day from 11:39 pm on November 13 to 12:32 am on November 14.

Day 4: Lakshmi Puja is done on the day Diwali during Pradosh Kaal which starts after sunset and approximately lasts for 2 hours and 24 minutes. This year, Lakshmi Puja is on Saturday, November 14, 2020. Lakshmi puja muhurat is from 05:28 pm to 07:24 pm.

Day 5: Govardhan Puja is the day when Lord Krishna defeated God Indra. It usually falls the next day after Diwali Puja. Gowardhan Puja is also known as Annakut Puja. The same day in Maharashtra is celebrated as Bali Pratipada or Bali Padva. The day after Diwali is also known to be the New Year as per Hindu Calendar.

Day 6: On Bhaiya Dooj, sisters perform Tika ceremony and pray for their brothers long and happy lives. This year Bhai Dooj is on Monday, November 16, 2020.

Since we are not shopping nearly as much as one used due to the fear of COVID-19, it does not mean that we can completely ignore the prevalent threat of plastics. Make sure to keep the use of plastics to a bare minimum. India is a country with a high amount of remote, unaware people who burn crackers while being oblivious of its immediate and late side effects. Creating awareness is the best counter to this problem.

MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates