Pune DFA defeat Kolhapur DFA 4-3 in penalties to win S.S. Narayan Trophy

Pune DFA defeat Kolhapur DFA 4-3 in penalties to win S.S. Narayan Trophy

The boy’s team of Pune DFA defeated Kolhapur DFA team 4-3 in the final of the OORJA – CAPFs Under-19 Football Talent Hunt 2017, played for the Olympian S.S. Narayan Trophy, at Cooperage Football Stadium, Mumbai, on Tuesday.

The win was commendable for Pune as they had a disadvantage as one of their players Romario Nazareth was given the red card by the referee in the 34th minute of the match.

There were no goals scored in the 90 minutes of the match and in the extra time of two halves of 10 minutes each. In the tie-breaker, the Pune boys scored. The scorers for Pune DFA were Edwin Faleiro (1 goal), Vicky Poojary (1 goal), Chris Unnithan (1 goal) and Ryan Sachin (1 goal).

The Kolhapur DFA scorers in the tie-breaker were Pawan Mali (1 goal), Shivaji Shinde (1 goal) and Pradeep Patil (1 goal). Nitant Karne and Ruturaj Sankalp both missed their kicks.

The Mumbai DFA team bagged the Third place prize by defeating Nagpur DFA by a massive 5-0 margin.

The Mumbai DFA girls team and Pune DFA boys team, both champions received the S.S. Narayan Trophies, medals and cash prizes of Rs 50,000 each. The runners-up teams in the girls and boys category, SGFI and Kolhapur DFA respectively, received silver medals and certificate.

Read this story in मराठी
MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates