Coronavirus cases in Maharashtra: 194Mumbai: 77Islampur Sangli: 25Pune: 20Pimpri Chinchwad: 12Nagpur: 12Kalyan: 7Navi Mumbai: 6Thane: 5Yavatmal: 4Vasai-Virar: 4Ahmednagar: 3Satara: 2Panvel: 2Ulhasnagar: 1Aurangabad: 1Ratnagiri: 1Sindudurga: 1Kolhapur: 1Pune Gramin: 1Godiya: 1Palghar: 1Gujrat Citizen in Maharashtra: 1Total Deaths: 6Total Discharged: 28BMC Helpline Number:1916State Helpline Number:022-22694725

RFYS Football Finals: East Zone wins unprecedented four titles; Malappuram becomes Sr Boys champion

Two teams from Imphal and one each from Shillong, Malappuram and Asansol grabbed the honours across the five categories in the finals of the RFYS 2019-20 National Football Championships

RFYS Football Finals: East Zone wins unprecedented four titles; Malappuram becomes Sr Boys champion

As the finals of the Reliance Foundation Youth Sports (RFYS) 2019-20, National Football Championships came to an end, all but one team from East Zone managed to emerge as champions. Two teams from Imphal and one each from Shillong, Malappuram and Asansol grabbed the honours across the five categories at the Reliance Corporate Park Ground in Navi Mumbai on Sunday.

The champions battled through their respective categories across five months which witnessed 1,20,000 young athletes competing in five categories of Sub Junior Boys, Junior Boys, Senior Boys, College Boys and School Girls. The road to the National Finals witnessed 6,700 football games featuring 10,000 educational institutions across 90 cities.

The Unique Model Academy, Imphal emerged as winners of the coveted Sub Junior trophy, the newest category introduced in the competition this season. The boys from Manipur played like champions from the word go to humble Progress High from Goa 4-0.

Nilamani English School successfully defended their title in the School Girl’s category after seeing out tough opposition from the Haryana Girls. Thoibisan Toijam scored in the last minute of injury time to make it two in two for Manipur on the day.

Unlike Nilamani, Shillong College HS were unable to defend their crown in the Senior Boys category going to MSP HSS 2-3. The winners had too much in store for Shillong in a match which witnessed some quality football on offer from both sides.

H Elias Memorial took the game to tie-breakers as they failed to break down Govt Oriental HS. However, thanks to heroics from goalkeeper Wankit Mawphlang, the current Subroto Cup winners won the Junior Boys title 2-0 in the penalty shootout.

It was a dream finish to season four with Shillong College giving up a two-goal lead to allow Asansol to finish 4-4 at full-time. The surprise packages from West Bengal made it 6-5 on penalties lifting the College Boys title for the first time.

Final Results:

  • Sub Junior Boys: The Unique Model Academy (Imphal) [Suraj Laishram 13’, Bigyananda Laishram 20’, Solendro Chanam 23’, Annaroy Soibam 44’] beat Progress High School (Goa): 4-0
  • Junior Boys: H Elias Memorial School (Shillong) beat Govt Oriental HS (Edathanattukara, Kerala): 2-0 (0-0 full time)
  • Senior Boys: MSP HSS (Malappuram) [Rahul Renjith 7’, Haroon Dilshad 26’, Muhammed Ajsal 66’] beat Shillong College HS (Shillong) [Aibiangmame Nongneng 14’, Kitboklang Khyriem 59’ Pen.]: 3-2
  • School Girls: Nilmani English School (Imphal) [Yumnam Laxmi 10’, Thoibisan Toijam 60+2’] beat St. Joseph’s International School (Hisar, Haryana) [Varsha 17’]: 2-1
  • College Boys: Dr. Bhupendranath Dutta Smriti Mahavidyalaya (Asansol) [Sanjay Tudu 25’, Tanmay Das 66’ Pen, Tushar Hemram 85’, Sukhen Mandi 90+2’ Pen] beat Shillong College (Shillong) [Samuel Kynshi 10’, Dameki Khongstia 35’, Phrangki Buam 71’, Robert Khongjoh 79’]: 6-5 (4-4 full time)

Individual Award Winners:

Sub Junior

  • Golden Boot: Annaroy Soibam (The Unique Model Academy, Imphal)
  • Golden Ball: Annaroy Soibam (The Unique Model Academy, Imphal)
  • Golden Glove: Meiteinganba Wairokpam (The Unique Model Academy, Imphal)


  • Golden Boot: Birsha Tudu (ASC Boys Sports School, Bengaluru)
  • Golden Ball: Gladdy Nelson Kharbuli (H Elias Memorial School, Shillong)
  • Golden Glove: Muhammed Suhail PP (Govt Oriental HS, Edathanattukara)

School Girls

  • Golden Boot: Maidangshri Narzary (Titaguri High School, Kokrajhar)
  • Golden Ball: Mamta (St. Joseph’s International School, Hisar)
  • Golden Glove: Keisham Melody (Nilamani English School, Imphal)

Senior Boys

  • Golden Boot: Haroon Dilshad (MSP HSS, Malappuram)
  • Golden Ball: Remark Kharmalki (Shillong College HS)
  • Golden Glove: Muhammed Fayiz P (MSP HSS, Malappuram)

College Boys

  • Golden Boot: Robert Khongjoh (Shillong College)
  • Golden Ball: Robert Khongjoh (Shillong College)
  • Golden Glove: Kastur Das (Dr Bhupendranath Dutta Smriti Mahavidyalaya, Asansol)
Latest News