Maharashtra Assembly Election Results: 6 Sitting Ministers Who Did not make it big

From Pankaja Munde to Vijay Shivtare, here are 6 people who were defeated in the elections in spite of being sitting ministers.


The Maharashtra Assembly Election results were shocking as well as predicted for many. There were several sitting ministers who had a stronghold over politics but yet lost the Vidhan Sabha Elections.

1. Pankaja Munde- BJP's Pankaja Munde who was contesting against her own cousin brother Dhananjay Munde lost by 28,000 votes in the Parli constituency. 

2. Ram Shinde- BJP's Ram Shinde lost to NCP's Rohit Pawar by 70,365 votes in Karjat constituency

3. Madan Yerawar- BJP's Madan Yerawar from the Yevatmal constituency lost to Congress' Anil Mangulkar by a margin of over 7000 votes. 

4. Arjun Khotkar- Shiv Sena's  Arjun Khotkar from Jalna constituency lost to Congress' Goryantal Kisanrao by over 17,000 votes. 

5. Vijay Shivtare-  Vijay Shivtare from Purandar constituency lost against Sanjay Chandukaka Jagtap from Congress

6. Anil Bonde-  Representing from Morshi, Anil Bonde from Socialist Worker's Party (SWP) won defeating BJP's Dr. Anil Sukhdeorao Bonde by 20,000 votes. 

Latest News