RPI (A) chief Ramdas Athawale announces first list of candidates for 2019 Maharashtra assembly elections

Of the four candidates, RPI (A) fielded Deepak Nikalje from Phaltan assembly constituency in Western Maharashtra. Nikalje is the brother of underworl


Republican Party of India (A) Ramdas Athawale, who also serves as Minister of State (MoS) for Social Justice, on Wednesday announced four candidates for assembly elections in Maharashtra which are scheduled on October 21. 

The Ramdas Athawale-led RPI (A) got six seats in the seat distribution between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Shiv Sena and other smaller allies. 

While addressing a press conference, Of the six seats, Athawale announced the first list of candidates who will be contesting on four assembly seats on RPI (A) ticket. 

Of the four candidates, RPI (A) fielded Deepak Nikalje from Phaltan assembly constituency in Western Maharashtra. Nikalje is the brother of underworld don Chhota Rajan. 

Nikalje was earlier given a RPI (A) ticket from Chembur assembly constituency in Mumbai but was unable to win the polls. A senior RPI leader informed that Nikalje expressed his desire to contest the assembly polls from Phaltan. 

Also Read - Mumbai BJP Vice President Haider Azam Demands Five Seats For Muslim Candidates

In its list, RPI (A) has fielded Gautam Sonawane from Mankhurd - Shivaji Nagar, Mohan Phad from Pathri in Parbhani and Rajesh Pawar from Naigaon in Nanded. 

Latest News