Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Polls to be held in Maharashtra in four phases starting April 11

The first phase of the Lok Sabha 2019 polls will include Seven constituencies, while the second, third and the final round will have around 10, 14 and 17 respectively


The dates for Lok Sabha 2019 elections have been declared and the same will be held in four phases across Maharashtra. The dates for the same would be April 11, 18, 23 and 29, respectively, said Chief Electoral Officer Ashwani Kumar on Sunday.

The first phase of the polls will include Seven constituencies will go to the polls in, while the second, third and the final round will have around 10, 14 and 17 respectively, making around 48 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra. This will be the second highest in India after Uttar Pradesh.

  • The first phase of the elections scheduled for April 11 will be held for 7 seats in Wardha, Ramtek, Nagpur, Bhandara-Gondiya, Gadchiroli-Chimu, Chandrapur and Yavatmal-Washim. 
  • The second phase for the next 10 seats will be held on April 18 at Buldhana, Akola, Amravati, Hingoli, Nanded, Parbhani, Beed, Osmanabad, Latur and Solapur.
  • The third phase on April 23 will be for 14 seats at Jalgaon, Raver, Jalna, Aurangabad, Raigad, Pune, Baramati, Ahmednagar, Madha, Sangli, Satara, Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg, Kolhapur and Hatkanangle.
  • The final phase for 17 seats will be held on April 29 in Nandurbar, Dhule, Dindori, Nashik, Palghar, Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Thane, Mumbai-North, Mumbai North-East, Mumbai North-West, Mumbai North-Central, Mumbai South-Central and Mumbai South, Maval, Shirur, and Shirdi.

Calling it a 'very positive sign,' it is being said that the ratio of women voters has increased from 889/1,000 voters in 2014 to 911/1,000 voters. The number of polling stations has also increased by 5,994 stations, from 89,479 polling stations in 2014 to 95,473 this year.

Latest News