Level of security reduced of Devendra Fadnavis, Raj Thackeray and other ministers in the state

The state government of Maharashtra released a list of names of members from the political circle whose security has been changed to a different level. The list includes many names of leaders from BJP and MNS.

Level of security reduced of Devendra Fadnavis, Raj Thackeray and other ministers in the state

In a recently taken decision, the state government of Maharashtra has reduced the level of security of several BJP leaders. The list includes names of former Chief Minister and opposition leader Devendra Fadnavis, MNS President Raj Thackeray, BJP state president Chandrakant Patil, BJP MP Narayan Rane among others. 

A decision regarding the same was taken a few days ago at a cabinet meeting which was held to review the security provided for some ministers and leaders in the state, and it is understood that the plan was revised post thorough discussions.

Earlier, former CM Devendra Fadnavis was provided with a bulletproof vehicle for safety, however, the same has been removed by the state government. Furthermore, Fadnavis's Z-plus security has also been removed and he has been given Y-Plus category with escorts, whereas MNS president Raj Thackeray's Z-security has been removed and he has also been provided with Y-plus security.

Meanwhile, MP Narayan Rane's Y-plus security has been cancelled and Union Minister of State for Social Justice Ramdas Athavale has been given security without escorts.

Reports state that Devendra Fadnavis' wife Amrita Fadnavis was given security with escorts which have now been removed and replaced. Divija Fadnavis has also been given X security with escorts. Deepak Kesarkar's Y-plus security has been removed along with Ashish Shelar and Ram Naik's Y-plus security which is now replaced with Y-security.

The list includes other names like Ambarishrao Atram, Chandrakant Patil. Sanjay Bansode, Sudhir Mungantiwar, Narayan Rane, Raosaheb Danve, Rajkumar Badole, Haribhau Bagde, Ram Kadam, Prasad Lad, Morotrao Kovase, Shobhatai Fadnavis, Kripashankar Singh and Madhav Bhandari.

The information also reveals that Legislative Council Speaker Ram Raje Nimbalkar has been given Y-plus security, Relief and Rehabilitation Minister Vijay Vadettiwar has been given Y-plus escort, MLA Vaibhav Naik has given X, and other ministers like Sandeep Bhumare, Abdul Sattar, Dilip Walse-Patil and Sunil Kedar have been given Y-level security.

Former Union Minister Shatrughan Sinha had Y-plus security before and this has been increased whereby he is now given Y-plus security along with escorts. Lawyer Ujjwal Nikam has been given Z-level security.