Meet the CPI(M) candidate who won Maharashtra assembly polls from Dahanu

Earlier in March 2018, Nikole participated in the Kisan Long March along with 50,000 farmers who walked to Mumbai from Nashik in order to press their demands


Amid the election narrative surrounding mainstream alliances in Maharashtra, Communist Party of India (Marxist) candidate Vinod Nikole managed to get a victory from Dahanu assembly constituency in the Palghar district.

Nikole managed to get 72,068 votes in the assembly elections and defeated the sitting Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA Pascal Dhanare who got 67,326 votes. The CPI(M) candidate defeated Dhanare with a margin of 4,742 votes.

Who is Vinod Nikole?

Vinod Nikole, 43, comes from a poor peasant family and is an active member in his Adivasi community. Nikole a member of party’s Maharashtra State Committee. Moreover, Nikole is the State Secretary and Thane-Palghar District Secretary of Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU).

Earlier in March 2018, Nikole participated in the Kisan Long March along with 50,000 farmers who walked to Mumbai from Nashik in order to press their demands. 

Dahanu, which was earlier Jawhar, seat has been a stronghold of CPI(M) since the year 1978. However, CPI(M) lost the Dahanu seat in 2014 amid the so-called “Modi wave”.

The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Congress alliance along with Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) in Maharashtra also campaigned and supported the CPI(M) and helped them in winning the seat.

CPI(M) contested the assembly elections being a part of a united front consisting of Bahujan Vikas Aghadi (BVA), NCP across Maharashtra. The front managed to defeated BJP on two seats while Shiv Sena was defeated in three constituencies.

Also Read - NOTA Ok Please: 1.38 Lakh Mumbaikars Say None Of The Above

The front has decided to contest the upcoming Zila Parishad and Panchayat Samiti elections, scheduled on January 2020, in Palghar unitedly to defeat the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance.

Latest News