Shiv Sena expels 26 rebel poll candidates

Shiv Sena expels 26 rebel poll candidates
Shiv Sena expels 26 rebel poll candidates
See all
Mumbai  -  

Mumbai - The firt step was 'samaj' - a stern talking to that does not seem to have helped.

The Shiv Sena, which is flying solo in these BMC elections after alliance talks with the Bharatiya Janata Party failed, has just expelled 26 party members for filing nomination papers despite a strict warning. These include the rebel candidates themselves and relatives of certain Sena office bearers, who have been seen as going against the party diktat. Some of them are veterans who have been with the Sena for a while now.

Prominent among these are Mahesh Sawant (ward 10), Amol Naik (ward 1), Satish Desai (ward 2), Tulshidas Shinde (ward 3), Shridhar Khade, Dnyaneshwar Sawant, Namrata Mistri (ward 4), Dr Rajendra Nikam, Mohan Lokegaonkar, Jivita Dhuri, Shweta Mane, Subhash Sawant, Surekha Chavan,  Dashrath Shirke (ward 8), Kavita Fernandes, Sudhir More, Rama Kashid, Shubhangi Shirke, Pratiksha Pawar, Snehal More, Sunil More and Navnath Shejwal.

Among those against whom action has been initiated also include Nandu Tambe (ward 9), Sumit Shetye, Eknath Pawar and Manju Kumre.

Stay tuned for more details from the Sena camp.

Loading Comments
© 2018 MumbaiLive. All Rights Reserved.