PBL 2018/19 Finals: Bengaluru Raptors clinch their maiden title as they mark a 4-3 win against Mumbai Rockets

While Bengaluru Raptors won their first Premier Badminton League (PBL) title, Mumbai became runner-up for the third time in the PBL history


The Premier Badminton League (PBL) has come to a conclusion and as the fourth season came to an end, Bengaluru Raptors registered their maiden title victory after they defeated Mumbai Rockets in a close encounter. Alongside, Mumbai became runner-up for the third time in the PBL history.

World No. 18 Anders Antonsen was humbled by Bengaluru skipper Kidmabi Srikanth when the two met each other in the battle at the beginning of this week. The skipper brought down any hopes of a turnaround as he grabbed a 15-7, 15-10 win.

Young Hendra Setiawan and Mohammad Ahsan proved that age is just a number after they took on Mumbai’s Lee Yong Dae and Kim Gi Jung. The former world champions managed to finish off the match with a 15-13, 15-10 win.

Later, World No. 59 Vu Thi Trang had been bestowed with the responsibility to play the Trump match for Bengaluru against Mumbai’s Shreyanshi Pardeshi and she managed to carve out a 15-8, 15-9 win.

Earlier, Mumbai Trump Pia Zebadiah and Kim Gi Jung made it a fabulous start for Mumbai as they defeated Raptors' Marcus Ellis and Lauren Smith. The Mumbai duo inflicted a 15-8, 15-14 defeat on the Raptors pair.

Simultaneously, Mumbai’s Sameer Verma bounced back from a poor start to score for his team against Bengaluru’s Sai Praneeth. Sai managed to silence the World No.12 in the first match but later Verma won a close encounter in the second set of the fixture. After which, Sameer easily outpowered Sai in the decider and won the tie with a 7-15, 15-12, 15-3 victory.

Latest News