Here's all you need to know about the 200 special trains started by Indian Railways

Here's all you need to know about the 200 special trains started by Indian Railways

After nearly two months of lockdown, Indian Railways resumed its services to ferry stranded labourers around the country. Since Monday, Indian Railways also started running 100 trains across India for other passengers that wish to travel. The first train, Mahanagari Express departed from Mumbai's Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus for Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh and was first among the 200 special trains to start today.

While the Maharashtra government had second thoughts about resuming passenger trains but eventually, last-minute arrangements were made by the government to start the special trains from their respective source stations.

These special trains are in addition to already operational 30 Rajdhani type trains, and Shramik trains, which are being used to ferry stranded migrant labourers. 

Here are all the rules you need to know before you travel in these passenger trains:

  • Passengers are required to show up at station 90 minutes in advance.
  • Fully confirmed, RAC passengers, and partially Waitlisted Ticket holders, i.e. if in single PNR, there are confirmed and WL passengers both are allowed. However, waitlisted passengers in single PNR are not allowed.
  • The passengers are required to wear masks at all times. They will also be screened at stations before boarding trains, and only passengers found asymptomatic will be allowed to board trains.
  • In case the passenger has high temperature/symptoms of COVID-19 during the screening process, he/she shall not be allowed to travel despite having confirmed tickets. However, in such a scenario passenger is eligible to get a full refund.
  • Maintaining social distance is a must all the time.
  • Use of Arogya Setu app has been made mandatory.
  • The first chart will be ready at least 4 hours before scheduled departure and the second chart will be available at least 2 hours before scheduled departure of the train. 
  • No unreserved or on-board tickets will be issued to any passenger during the journey.
  • No unreserved coach has been allocated to any train.

Also Read:

Taxis And Kaali-Peelis Permitted To Operate In Five Mumbai Train Stations

781 Shramik Special Trains Leave Maharashtra