DY Patil T20 Tournament Final: Reliance 1 lose against Indian Oil

DY Patil T20 Tournament Final: Reliance 1 lose against Indian Oil

The DY Patil T20 Tournament came to an end on Friday with the mighty 'Reliance 1' losing to Indian Oil in the finale of the 16th edition of the tournament. Despite a valiant 69-run knock from Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan, Reliance 1 lost by 11 runs. Indian Oil restricted their opponents to 183/7 in the final match.

Earlier, Indian Oil put up a score of 194/5 with their skipper Aditya Tare scoring unbeaten 75 runs. However, Dhawan (69 off 41 balls; 6x4, 2x6) could not assure a win for his team, single-handedly, in the chase as all other Reliance 1 batsmen, including Hardik Pandya (0), faltered at the DY Patil Stadium here.

Previously, Pandya became the highest Indian run-scorer in T20s as he scored an unbeaten 158 in just 55 balls to help Reliance 1 reach 238/4 in the first semi-final against Bharat Petroleum Company Limited (BPCL). All the three Indian players who are making a comeback to competitive cricket after sustaining injuries, Dhawan, Hardik and Bhuvneshvar Kumar will now play for India in upcoming series against South Africa. 

The turning point of the match was when Dhawan was caught in a horrible mix up and was run out. This eventually led to Reliance 1's loss. On the other hand, after scoring an unbeaten 158 off just 58 balls, Pandya perished for a first-ball duck in the final. Medium-pacer Bhuvaneshwar Kumar was expensive with figures of 0/50 from his four overs in the final.

While Pandya did not showcase in the finals, he was awarded for his show in the entire tournament. Hardik won three awards: Maximum Sixes, Best Batsman and Player of the Tournament. The three will now feature in the series against the Proteas which will commence from March 12. The Indian team will face South Africa in a three-match ODI series.

Also Read: The Most Popular Cricketers In The World Of Fantasy Cricket

MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates