Suryakumar Yadav included in India A squad; Shreyas Iyer to captain the side

Mumbai batsman Shreyas Iyer has been entrusted with the India A team's leadership. India B will also be participating in the four-team series and Manish Pandey will be leading the side. The series will be played in Vijayawada from August 17 to 29.

Suryakumar Yadav included in India A squad; Shreyas Iyer to captain the side

Mumbai batsman Suryakumar Yadav, who has been doing consistently well in the Indian Premier League (IPL) has been rewarded for his hard work. Yadav, who has been a star batsman for IPL franchise Mumbai Indians, finally got selected in the India A squad for the series which includes Australia A, India B and South Africa A. Before the series, India A will play two four-day matches against South Africa A in Bengaluru.

Also Read: BCCI Declares Test Squad For Three Matches; Rishabh Pant Gets Maiden National Call

Captain Prithvi Shaw who won India the Under-19 World Cup, has also been included in the India A squad. In this series, three Mumbai cricketers Shreyas and Suryakumar, along with Prithvi, will represent the country and play for India A. 

Before the IPL, Suryakumar performed exceptionally in the hyperlocal T20 tournament, Mumbai T20 League and won the cup for his team.

The TML helped a lot as it was the same format that of the IPL and the same venue where I would be playing most of my games for MI. I knew the wickets and the ground pretty well. As the tournament progressed, I kept adapting and went on to play my natural game,” Yadav said.

Read this story in मराठी
MumbaiLive would like to send you latest news updates